Skip to main content
🇲🇾 11 years in Malaysian property · Johor Bahru & Kuala Lumpur new launches
Seputeh, Kuala Lumpur · Freehold · Avaland Berhad

Aetas Seputeh

126 apartments on 1.57 freehold acres, in two thirty-eight storey blocks, carrying a RM320 million gross development value. Divide the second number by the first and you can see why the foreign-ownership threshold is not the obstacle here — the obstacles are further down the page.

Freehold residential land126 units · two 38-storey blocks1.57 acres · RM320 million GDVDevelopment order already approved

⚡ Typical reply within 15 minutes, 9am–10pm MYT · No obligation

126Units in the whole scheme
38Storeys per block, two blocks
1.57Acres of freehold land
Aetas Seputeh official development image published by Avaland Berhad — 126 luxury apartments in two 38-storey blocks on freehold land in Seputeh, Kuala Lumpur
Aetas Seputeh · the only project image Avaland has published
Answer block

Aetas Seputeh at a glance

Every figure below traces to one of two documents: the Bursa Malaysia filing of 20 February 2023 and the developer’s press release of the same day. Nothing here comes from a listing portal. Where the developer has published nothing, the row says so.

Development
Aetas SeputehSecond project in Avaland’s premium Aetas series, after Aetas Damansara
Developer entity
Ardent Residence Sdn BhdWholly-owned subsidiary of Avaland Berhad 200901038653 (881786-X), Bursa Main Market
Tenure
Freehold, residential landDescribed as freehold residential land in the acquisition announcement — residential title, not a commercial-titled serviced apartment
Site area
1.57 acresBought for RM58 million cash from HPC Development Sdn Bhd; Knight Frank Malaysia valued it at RM55 million on 5 December 2022
Structure
Two blocks, 38 storeys eachStated in the 20 February 2023 stock exchange filing; a stacking plan has never been published
Total units
126 luxury apartmentsThe filing describes the plan as subject to authority approval, so treat it as the approved scheme rather than a final unit schedule
Gross development value
RM320 millionTotal development cost stated at RM186 million in the same filing
Planning status
Development order already approvedDBKL had approved a development order for two blocks of high-rise apartments before the land agreement was signed
Programme as filed
Commence 2023, complete 2027That was the projection in February 2023. No revised programme has been published since, and construction status is not disclosed
Unit sizes and mix
Not publishedAgent listings circulate a range of 3,531 to 14,869 sq ft — I could not trace that to any Avaland or Bursa document, so it is not stated as fact here
Facilities, price, maintenance fee
None publishedThere is no project website. I register interest directly with the developer and pass on the price list the day it exists
Why this address

Six things a buyer should understand before registering

Most Kuala Lumpur launches ask you to work out whether you can afford them. This one asks a different question first: whether you are the kind of buyer it was designed for. At 126 homes on 1.57 acres with a RM320 million development value, the answer is decided by arithmetic long before it is decided by taste.

🧮

The arithmetic that answers the ownership question

A gross development value of RM320 million spread over 126 units works out at roughly RM2.5 million per home on average. Kuala Lumpur’s floor for a foreign interest is RM1 million. So unless the mix is far more lopsided than a two-block scheme normally is, the threshold question that stops most non-citizens at most Kuala Lumpur launches simply does not arise here. That is a rare thing, and it is the single most important fact on this page if you hold a foreign passport or a Malaysian permanent residence card.

🏙

Two apartments per floor, give or take

126 homes across two 38-storey blocks is fewer than two per floor per block on the headline numbers. Take out the levels that will be car park, lobby and amenity and the residential floors carry more than that — realistically two to four doors per landing. The developer has published no stacking plan, so this is arithmetic rather than a specification. But it tells you the product category immediately: private lift lobbies and large floor plates are how a scheme like this is normally resolved, which is also why the average value per unit lands where it does.

📊

A developer whose homework you can mark yourself

Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd is wholly owned by Avaland Berhad, on the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia since April 2015. That means quarterly results, audited accounts and announcements you can read without asking anyone’s permission. Two you can check today: unbilled sales above RM900 million as reported in May 2026, and the August 2026 topping out of Amika Residences ahead of programme with full take-up. Compare that with buying from a private developer, where the only financial information you will ever see is what someone chooses to hand you.

The development order came with the land

The group told the market that the land came with an approved development order, allowing it to commence planning, development and marketing immediately on completion of the acquisition. That is not marketing language — a DBKL development order for two blocks of high-rise apartments is the approval that most Kuala Lumpur schemes spend two or three years and a lot of money obtaining. Buying land with it already in place removes the single biggest source of delay at the front end of a project.

The 2027 completion date is a 2023 sentence

The filing said the project was expected to commence in 2023 and be completed in 2027. That was written three and a half years ago. Since then Avaland has published nothing about Aetas Seputeh’s construction status, and the project does not appear in the current or upcoming menus on its own website. I am not going to dress that up: the published completion date is stale and should not be relied on. Ask for the delivery date as stated on the advertising permit, because that one carries a statutory consequence if it is missed.

🔎

Six things nobody has published yet

No floor plans. No unit sizes. No facilities list. No car park allocation. No maintenance fee. No price list. For a scheme announced in February 2023 and still unlaunched in August 2026, that is a long silence, and it means every number you hear from an agent today is unsourced. It does not make the project weak — the land, the approval and the balance sheet behind it are all real — but it does mean you should be registering interest rather than making decisions, and insisting on documents rather than screenshots.

Project DNA

The whole development, decoded

The single most revealing calculation on this page takes ten seconds. 126 homes, two blocks, thirty-eight storeys each. That is a headline of fewer than two apartments per floor per block. Even after you subtract the car park and amenity levels, this is a building designed to put very few front doors on each landing — which is the whole proposition, and also the reason the price per square foot will not look like Old Klang Road.

126Units
38Storeys per block
1.57Acres, freehold
RM320mGross development value

Two blocks, one small site, and what the filing actually says

Residences

The two blocks

The stock exchange filing describes the scheme as two thirty-eight storey blocks housing one hundred and twenty-six units of luxury apartments. That is the whole published description of the buildings — there is no elevation, no stacking plan, no floor plan and no facilities layout in the public domain. What the numbers themselves tell you is the density: 126 homes over 76 storey-levels means a low-count building by design, and on a 1.57-acre plot the only way to reach thirty-eight storeys with that few apartments is with generous floor plates. Anyone quoting you a specific unit size today is quoting something that has not been published.

2Blocks
38Storeys in each
126Apartments in total
Two blocks, thirty-eight storeys each · from the filing126 luxury apartments in total · from the filingUnit sizes, mix and stacking · not publishedElevations, floor plans and facilities layout · not published
💬 Ask about The two blocks
The deal

The land and the money

Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd agreed to buy 1.57 acres of freehold residential land in Seputeh for RM58 million cash from HPC Development Sdn Bhd, in an agreement dated 20 February 2023 and expected to complete in the second quarter of that year. The price was struck on a willing-buyer, willing-seller basis against a RM55 million valuation by Knight Frank Malaysia Sdn Bhd dated 5 December 2022, and against a DBKL development order already approved for two blocks of high-rise apartments. The group put total development cost at RM186 million and gross development value at RM320 million, and said it would fund both the acquisition and the development from internal funds and bank borrowings. This was Avaland’s first land purchase inside Kuala Lumpur.

RM58mLand price, cash
RM55mKnight Frank valuation, Dec 2022
RM186mTotal development cost
Vendor · HPC Development Sdn BhdAgreement dated 20 February 2023, completion targeted Q2 2023DBKL development order already approved over the landFunding · internal funds and bank borrowings
💬 Ask about The land and the money
Context

The Aetas series

Aetas is Avaland’s premium residential line, sitting at the top of a three-brand structure alongside the mid-market and affordable ranges. The first was Aetas Damansara, launched in December 2020 and described by the group in February 2023 as having achieved take-up above 80%. Aetas Seputeh was announced as an extension of that series and, on the group’s own August 2026 wording, the third in the line will be Aetas Taman Desa. That sequencing is useful to a buyer for one reason: it tells you which comparable to study. If you want to know what this developer actually builds at this price level, go and look at Aetas Damansara rather than at renderings of a scheme that has none.

2ndIn the Aetas series
80%Aetas Damansara take-up, Feb 2023
2015Parent listed on Bursa since
Aetas Damansara · launched December 2020, the comparable to inspectAetas Seputeh · announced February 2023, still unlaunchedAetas Taman Desa · named as the third in the series in August 2026Parent · Avaland Berhad, Bursa Main Market since 6 April 2015
💬 Ask about The Aetas series
Track record

The delivery record

Buying an unlaunched project means buying a promise, so the only honest test is what the same group has already handed over. In August 2026 Avaland topped out Amika Residences — 468 serviced apartment units in two towers on a freehold site — ahead of programme and with every unit sold, alongside GreenRE Gold certification, a Best Landscape award and 1.7 million man-hours worked without a lost-time injury. Financially, the group reported new sales of RM152.3 million in the first quarter of FY2026 and unbilled sales above RM900 million. It continues to buy: in April 2026 it acquired 1.9 acres at Taman U-Thant for RM86 million for a development valued at RM700 million. None of that is a guarantee for Aetas Seputeh, but all of it is verifiable — which is more than most buyers of an unlaunched project ever get.

468Amika units, fully sold
RM900m+Group unbilled sales, May 2026
1.7mMan-hours, no lost-time injury
Amika Residences · topped out ahead of programme, August 2026GreenRE Gold certification and a Best Landscape awardQ1 FY2026 new sales RM152.3 millionTaman U-Thant land acquired April 2026, RM700 million planned GDV
💬 Ask about The delivery record

Published, unpublished, and what to ask for

There is no facilities plan for Aetas Seputeh. Rather than invent one, the three columns below set out exactly what has been filed, exactly what has not been published, and the documents that will answer the second column when you ask for them.

Filed with the stock exchange

20 February 2023 · verifiable
  • Freehold residential land, 1.57 acres, Seputeh, Kuala Lumpur
  • Two blocks of thirty-eight storeys each
  • 126 units of luxury apartments
  • Gross development value RM320 million
  • Total development cost RM186 million
  • Land purchase RM58 million cash from HPC Development Sdn Bhd
  • Knight Frank Malaysia valuation RM55 million, 5 December 2022
  • DBKL development order approved before the agreement

Not published anywhere

Checked 11 August 2026
  • Facilities list and facilities plan
  • Floor plans, unit sizes and unit mix
  • Which units sit on which floor, and how many per lift lobby
  • Car park bays allocated per unit
  • Ceiling heights, finishes and appliance specification
  • Projected maintenance fee per square foot
  • Price list and payment schedule
  • Current construction status and any revised completion date

Ask for these, in the subsidiary’s name

Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd
  • Developer licence
  • Advertising permit, which states the delivery date
  • Land title showing category of land use
  • Schedule of Parcels with your share units
  • Approved building plan showing units per floor
  • Draft sale and purchase agreement, third schedule

Worth inspecting instead

The developer’s delivered work
  • Aetas Damansara · the first project in the same premium line
  • Amika Residences · 468 units, topped out ahead of programme, fully sold
  • Avaland quarterly results and Bursa announcements
  • GreenRE certification record on recent group projects

Where the project is now

Dec 2020Aetas Damansara launched, the first in the series
5 Dec 2022Knight Frank Malaysia values the Seputeh land at RM55 million
20 Feb 2023Ardent Residence signs for the land at RM58 million; Aetas Seputeh announced
Q2 2023Acquisition targeted for completion; project targeted to commence
Aug 2026Still no project website, floor plan, facilities list or price
2027Completion, as projected in the February 2023 filing
Location & connectivity

Where Aetas Seputeh sits

The site is in Seputeh, inside the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, which the developer describes as sitting on the fringe of the city’s central business district in a mature and affluent neighbourhood. Its own release places the land 2 km from Mid Valley Megamall and approximately 8 km from Kuala Lumpur City Centre, reached by the Federal Highway and the New Pantai Expressway. The planning authority is DBKL, which had already granted a development order over the land before the acquisition was signed.

📍 Seputeh58000 Seputeh

The pin is set on Seputeh as a district, not on a surveyed lot, because no street address, lot number or coordinate has been published anywhere. There is no project website for Aetas Seputeh. Everything factual on this page comes from a Bursa Malaysia filing dated 20 February 2023 and the developer’s own press release of the same date. If a sales agent shows you a pin, ask what document it came from.

Careful with the word Seputeh. It is used loosely in Kuala Lumpur for a stretch of land that includes Taman Seputeh, Bukit Seputeh, the Federal Hill fringe and the upper end of Old Klang Road, and the price per square foot is not remotely the same across all of them. The developer has published three locational claims and nothing else: 2 km to Mid Valley Megamall, about 8 km to the city centre, and two schools — SRJK(C) Kuen Cheng 2 and Alice Smith Primary School — within a 5 km radius. Anything more precise that you read elsewhere did not come from the developer.
💬 Ask me about the real drive times
  • Mid Valley Megamall2 kmdeveloper’s figure
  • Kuala Lumpur City CentreAbout 8 kmdeveloper’s figure
  • SRJK(C) Kuen Cheng 2Within 5 kmexact distance not given
  • Alice Smith School, primary campusWithin 5 kmexact distance not given
  • Federal HighwayAccess routenamed by the developer, no distance published
  • New Pantai ExpresswayAccess routenamed by the developer, no distance published
  • Nearest MRT, LRT or KTM stationNot publishedno station is named in any developer material
  • Nearest hospitalNot publishedthe release cites amenities generally, not by name
  • Riverville Residences 2, Old Klang RoadAdjoining districtits developer names Seputeh as a surrounding township
The government record

The National Housing Department has this project flagged Lewat — late

This is the finding on this page that no brochure, no portal listing and no sales gallery will give you. The government’s own project register records the construction status of Residensi Aetas Seputeh as Lewat.

Project codeAdvertising permitPermit expiresUnitsBed / bathPrice band on the permitBuiltStatus
30624-130624-1/06-2027/0495(N)-(S)6 Jun 20271264–5 / 4–5RM3,920,000 – RM16,668,00028.4–29.7%Lewat

Swipe sideways to see the full table →

How to run this check yourself — the seven status words, why searching by marketing name fails, and the register status of all 175 developments on this site →

Registered scheme name: Residensi Aetas Seputeh · Licensed developer: Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd · Read from teduh.kpkt.gov.my on 27 August 2026. Pull it yourself: teduh.kpkt.gov.my/semakan-status-kemajuan?kodProjek=30624-1

What Lewat means in this register

The register uses a fixed vocabulary, and the words are not interchangeable: Belum Mula (not started), Lancar (on schedule), Lewat (late), Sakit (a distressed or “sick” project), Siap Dengan CCC / CFO (completed), Permit Telah Dibatalkan (permit cancelled).

Lewat is not Sakit. It does not mean the project is in distress, it does not mean the developer is in trouble, and it does not mean the building will not be finished. It means the reported progress is behind the reported schedule. Many late projects are delivered.

But it does mean one specific thing for you, and it is worth reading twice: the clause in your sale and purchase agreement that pays you liquidated damages for late delivery is now the most important clause in the document. Under the statutory schedule for strata housing, late delivery interest runs at 10% per annum on the purchase price from the day after the delivery deadline. Ask, in writing, for the contractual delivery date and how it is calculated from your signing date.

The price band, and why it is on the record and not in an advertisement

The permitted band runs from RM3,920,000 to RM16,668,000 across 126 units. At those numbers the foreign-buyer thresholds are not a constraint anywhere in Malaysia — the constraint here is delivery risk, not eligibility.

Progress on the file sits between 28.4% and 29.7% across components. Note the date, then check it again before you release each progress payment. On a project already recorded as late, the percentage moving is the single most useful thing you can verify without asking anyone’s permission.

Track record

About Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd (Avaland Berhad)

The company that will sign your sale and purchase agreement is Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd, named in the stock exchange filing as the wholly-owned subsidiary that entered into the land agreement with HPC Development Sdn Bhd on 20 February 2023. Its parent is Avaland Berhad, 200901038653 (881786-X), listed on the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia since 6 April 2015 and known until its rebranding as MCT Berhad. Ask for the developer licence and advertising permit in the subsidiary’s exact name, not the group’s.

Why the listing is worth something to you. A public developer files quarterly results, announces material contracts, and publishes audited accounts that an auditor has signed. You can read Avaland’s numbers yourself instead of taking a salesperson’s word for the group’s health. Two recent data points, both from the company: Q1 FY2026 new sales of RM152.3 million and unbilled sales above RM900 million (26 May 2026), and in August 2026 the topping out of Amika Residences — 468 units in two towers — ahead of programme and fully sold, with GreenRE Gold certification and 1.7 million man-hours worked without a lost-time injury. Delivering ahead of schedule is not a small thing in this market, and it is checkable.

And here is the part that needs saying plainly. Aetas Seputeh is the second project in Avaland’s premium Aetas series — the group’s own August 2026 statement calls Aetas Taman Desa its third Aetas project, which places Seputeh second, after Aetas Damansara (launched December 2020, take-up above 80% as at February 2023 on the group’s own figures). Yet as at 11 August 2026 there is no Aetas Seputeh project website, no floor plan, no facilities list and no price. It does not appear in the Upcoming, Current or Completed menus on avaland.com.my, and its own project page carries a single image and no text. The only sign of life is the group’s careers page, which lists sales roles for Aetas @ Damansara, Seputeh and Taman Desa. Read that as registration stage, not launch stage — and treat any specification quoted to you today as provisional until it appears on the advertising permit.

Straight answers

Frequently asked questions

Can a foreigner or a Malaysian permanent resident buy at Aetas Seputeh?

On the published numbers, yes — this is one of the rare Kuala Lumpur schemes where the price floor is unlikely to be your obstacle. The city applies a RM1,000,000 minimum purchase price to residential property acquired by a foreign interest. A RM320 million gross development value across 126 apartments averages around RM2.5 million a unit, so the threshold is very unlikely to bite here. I say unlikely rather than certainly because no price list exists yet.

Remember who counts as foreign. The guideline uses the term foreign interest, and a Malaysian permanent resident is inside it, as is a Malaysian company whose foreign shareholding reaches the stated thresholds. A PR is not treated as a citizen for this purpose, which surprises people every single year.

The consent step is separate and it is not the EPU. Section 433B of the National Land Code requires written state authority consent before a non-citizen’s transfer can be registered. In the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur the application goes to the Jawatankuasa Kerja Tanah Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, the Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory Land Working Committee. Budget several months and treat it as a condition precedent in your purchase timeline, not an afterthought.

I am a property negotiator, not a lawyer. Guidelines and circulars are revised and the land office applies them to the facts of your file — have a conveyancing lawyer confirm the current procedure before you sign.

What does a non-citizen actually have to pay on top of the price?

Start with stamp duty, because it is the big one and no bank will lend against it. From 1 January 2026 a flat 8% stamp duty applies to the transfer instrument where residential property is acquired by a non-citizen who is not a permanent resident. On a RM2.5 million apartment that is RM200,000 in cash, payable on top of the purchase price and outside your loan.

The legislation is explicit that service apartments and SOHO units are within its scope, so a product label is not a way around it. In this case the point is academic in a helpful way — the land was announced as freehold residential land, so you are looking at residential title rather than a commercial-titled serviced apartment, which is generally the better outcome for assessment rates, utility tariffs and bank margin.

Then add the items nobody quotes at the sales gallery: the state consent application and its processing costs, legal fees and disbursements on the transfer and the loan documentation, and the shortfall created by a foreign buyer’s lower margin of finance. Foreign buyers are routinely offered a lower loan-to-value than citizens, and the gap lands on your cash at the signing table.

Model the exit before the entry. Real property gains tax for a non-citizen is 30% on disposals within five years and 10% from the sixth year onwards, with no zero band at any point. A citizen eventually reaches 0%; you never do. On a property in this price band that difference is the single largest line in your holding cost model, and it should shape how long you plan to hold.

Bring your income documents to the first conversation and I will get an indicative funding position from panel banks before you fall in love with a floor plan that has not been published yet.

How many units are there, and how big are they?

126 units — that number is solid, and it comes from a stock exchange filing rather than a brochure. The same filing puts them in two blocks of thirty-eight storeys, with a gross development value of RM320 million and a total development cost of RM186 million.

Unit sizes are a different story: nothing has been published. No floor plan, no built-up range, no bedroom counts, no mix. Listing portals circulate a range of 3,531 to 14,869 sq ft. I could not trace that to any Avaland announcement, press release or Bursa filing, so it is not stated as fact on this page — if it turns out to be right, it will be right in a document, and I will update the page from the document.

What the published numbers do support is the shape of the thing. 126 homes over two thirty-eight storey blocks is a headline of under two apartments per floor per block; strip out car park and amenity levels and you land at roughly two to four per landing. Buildings resolved that way have large floor plates and often private or semi-private lift lobbies.

The definitive source will be the approved building plan and the Schedule of Parcels. Ask for both. The Schedule of Parcels also gives you your share units, which determine your maintenance contribution and your voting weight at the management corporation — and in a 126-unit building, where each owner holds a meaningful slice of the vote, that matters far more than it does in a thousand-unit tower.

Who is the developer, and does the Bursa listing actually help me?

Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Avaland Berhad, 200901038653 (881786-X), on the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia since 6 April 2015. The group was called MCT Berhad when it bought this land. Its chief executive since 1 January 2024 is Apollo Bello Tanco, who spent close to thirty years at Ayala Land before joining.

Yes, the listing helps, in three concrete ways. First, the group must announce material transactions — which is precisely why we know the land price, the valuer, the valuation date, the development cost and the unit count on a project with no website. Second, quarterly results let you see whether the developer is being funded by sales or by borrowings: Avaland reported Q1 FY2026 new sales of RM152.3 million and unbilled sales above RM900 million. Third, delivery performance becomes checkable rather than anecdotal — in August 2026 the group topped out Amika Residences, 468 units in two towers, ahead of programme and fully sold, with GreenRE Gold certification.

What the listing does not do is guarantee this particular project. Your contract is with the subsidiary, not the parent, and a listed parent is not automatically a guarantor of its subsidiary’s obligations. Get the developer licence and advertising permit in Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd’s name and read the parties clause of the sale and purchase agreement rather than the logo on the folder.

One caution I would not leave out: Aetas Seputeh appears in none of the Upcoming, Current or Completed menus on the group’s own website, and has no project page content. A listed developer that files diligently but markets a project this quietly is telling you it is not ready to sell it yet.

When will Aetas Seputeh be completed?

The only published answer is 2027, and it is out of date. The February 2023 filing said the project was expected to commence in 2023 and be completed in 2027. Nothing has been published since about construction status, revised programme or a launch date.

So treat that year as historical rather than as a commitment. A completion date only becomes a promise when it is written into the advertising permit and then into the sale and purchase agreement, where the statutory delivery period runs from the date of the agreement and late delivery attracts liquidated damages. Verbal dates carry none of that.

There is a piece of good news in the same file, though, and it is worth weighing: the land was bought with a DBKL development order already approved for two blocks of high-rise apartments. Planning approval is where Kuala Lumpur schemes most often lose two or three years. Starting with it in hand removes that risk from the front end even if the programme has slipped since.

When you register interest, ask specifically for two dates in writing: the expected launch date and the vacant possession date as it will appear on the advertising permit. If a salesperson can only give you the first, you are early — which is fine, as long as you know it.

What is the price and the maintenance fee?

Neither exists in public yet. There is no price list and no projected service charge, because the project has not launched. Anything circulating is someone’s estimate wearing the clothes of a fact.

What you can do today is bracket it honestly. The filing gives a gross development value of RM320 million across 126 units — an average of roughly RM2.5 million a home. A GDV is a target, not a price list, and the spread between the smallest and largest unit in a scheme like this is usually wide. But it is a far better anchor than a portal number with no source, and it tells you which financing conversation to be having.

On maintenance, the number to ask for is the projected service charge in ringgit per square foot, and whether the sinking fund sits inside that figure or on top of it. In a 126-unit building the arithmetic is unforgiving in a way buyers often miss: the cost of running lifts, a facilities floor, security and landscaping is divided among a small number of owners, so the fee per square foot in a low-density building is usually higher, not lower, than in a large one. That is the price of the low density you are buying, and you should budget for it rather than be surprised by it.

Register with me and I will put your requirements in front of the developer directly, and send you the price list and payment schedule the day they are released — with the advertising permit alongside, so you can read the legal version rather than the sales version.

How easy would it be to sell a unit here later?

Be realistic: a 126-unit luxury building is a thin market in both directions. That cuts your way while you own it — few competing units, little chance of ten identical apartments being dumped on the market in the same quarter. It cuts against you when you want out, because there will be very few comparable transactions for a valuer or a buyer to price against, and each sale can take longer.

Add the exit tax if you are not a citizen. Real property gains tax for a non-citizen is 30% within five years and 10% from the sixth year onwards, with no zero band ever. A five-year hold is not a tax planning strategy here, it is the minimum before the rate drops, and even then it does not reach zero. Build that into your target return before you buy, not after.

And read the market you are exiting into. NAPIC recorded 3,733 unsold completed residential units and 4,181 unsold completed serviced apartments in Kuala Lumpur in the first quarter of 2026. Aetas Seputeh is on residential land, so the first of those two figures is the relevant one — and it is the smaller of the two, which is part of why residential title is worth having. Neither number is a reason to avoid a good building, but both are a reason to negotiate properly on entry, because your margin on exit is largely decided by what you paid.

The most useful thing you can do is go and look at Aetas Damansara resale evidence. Same developer, same brand, same buyer profile, several years of transaction history. That is a real comparable. Renderings are not.

Is Seputeh a good address, and what exactly does it cover?

Seputeh is a broad label, and that is the first thing to get straight. In everyday Kuala Lumpur usage it stretches across Taman Seputeh, Bukit Seputeh, the Federal Hill fringe and the upper end of Old Klang Road. Values across those pockets are not interchangeable, so a price comparison is only meaningful once you know which pocket a transaction sat in.

What the developer has committed to in writing is narrow but useful. The land is on the fringe of the central business district in what it calls a mature and affluent neighbourhood, 2 km from Mid Valley Megamall and about 8 km from the city centre, reached by the Federal Highway and the New Pantai Expressway, with SRJK(C) Kuen Cheng 2 and Alice Smith Primary School within a 5 km radius. That is the complete published locational case.

Two things it does not say, and you should notice both. It names no rail station — which for a scheme of this value is less critical than it would be for a rental-led product, but is still worth checking on the ground before you assume a commute. And it gives no street address, so you cannot yet check the immediate surroundings, the outlook from the upper floors or what may be built next door.

My practical advice: once the site is disclosed, drive it at 8 am on a weekday and again at 7 pm. Mid Valley being 2 km away is an amenity on paper and a traffic pattern in real life, and on this side of Kuala Lumpur the difference between those two things is the whole experience of living there.

Why can I buy here but not at Riverville Residences 2 a few minutes away?

Because the rule is about price, not about place. Kuala Lumpur’s RM1 million floor for a foreign interest applies to the unit you are buying, not to the neighbourhood. Two schemes on adjoining ground can therefore land on opposite sides of the line — and these two do.

Riverville Residences 2, on Old Klang Road, offers three layouts of 803, 851 and 915 sq ft, all three-bedroom, from a private family-controlled developer. Compact three-bedroom stock on that stretch of road is very unlikely to be priced above RM1 million across the board, which would put the whole price list out of reach for a non-citizen or a permanent resident. Aetas Seputeh is 126 apartments carrying a RM320 million development value — an average around RM2.5 million — so the same buyer walks straight through.

The trade you are making is not subtle. RV2 is a family home at a mid-market price with a small deposit and a manageable loan, and it is closed to you. Aetas is open to you but arrives with an 8% stamp duty in cash, a state consent application measured in months, a lower margin of finance, and a 30% or 10% gains tax on the way out. Access is not the same thing as value.

If you are a Malaysian citizen, none of the above applies and the comparison flips entirely — at which point RV2 may well be the better use of your money. I have written that project up on its own page, including what to check in its dual-key layout and why you should go and inspect the developer’s 2017 building on the same road before deciding anything.

What a serious buyer should do next

There is no price list, no floor plan and no launch date in public circulation for Aetas Seputeh. What I can do is register your interest directly with the developer, get you the advertising permit and developer licence in Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd’s name the moment they are issued, and model the full non-citizen cost stack — stamp duty, consent, legal and financing — against a realistic price band before you commit to anything. Tell me your budget and whether you are a citizen, a permanent resident or a foreign buyer, and I will come back with a straight answer.

No agent fee payable by the buyer on new developer launches

Louis Koh

11 years in Malaysian property · Johor Bahru & Kuala Lumpur new launches · English & 中文

I work with cross-border buyers from Singapore and with local investors. I'll tell you when a project isn't right for you — that's usually worth more than the brochure.

💬 Message Louis

Published 2026-08-11 · Last verified 2026-08-11 against Ardent Residence Sdn Bhd (Avaland Berhad)'s published project material. Unit availability, pricing and completion dates are set by the developer and subject to change. This page is marketing information, not an offer or a contract.

Aetas SeputehFreehold · 126 units · two 38-storey blocks
WhatsApp

Ask a specific question

If you would rather not use WhatsApp, use this. I answer them myself. Only your name and one contact method are required.

Email or phone — one is enough

What you send is emailed to me and stored on this site. It goes to no third party, joins no mailing list, and fires no tracking. See the privacy policy.