Residensi Bayu Damai
The permit gazettes every price in this development, and the highest of them is RM971,800 — RM28,200 short of the number that decides whether a foreigner can buy in Sabah.
⚡ Typical reply within 15 minutes, 9am–10pm MYT · No obligation


Residensi Bayu Damai at a glance
Read the price ceiling first, because in Sabah it decides a question that no brochure will answer for you. The permit sets the top of this development at RM971,800 for a Type D1. The Bar Council Conveyancing Practice Committee's own state table records Sabah's minimum purchase price for residential property acquired by a non-citizen as RM1,000,000 — which would mean not one unit here is transactable by a foreigner, a Singaporean or a Malaysian permanent resident, by a margin of RM28,200. A widely circulated figure of RM600,000 for high-rise strata also exists, attributed to a state circular, and if that is the operative rule then almost the entire development is open. I cannot reconcile these two, and I am not going to pretend otherwise. For this project specifically, the developer’s own FAQ states that foreigners may buy at an SPA price of RM600,000 and above — that is the developer’s statement, not a state ruling, and it still sits against the Bar Council table. No online Sabah housing or land register was reachable to settle it. If you are not a Malaysian citizen, the only responsible next step is a written confirmation from the Sabah Lands and Surveys Department, obtained through a Sabah conveyancing solicitor, for the specific unit and price you intend to buy. For a Malaysian buyer, none of this applies and everything below is straightforward.
- Development
- Residensi Bayu DamaiThe approved housing development name on the permit
- Developer
- FYT Land (KK) Sdn BhdSite operated under BEDI Development Sdn Bhd 202001008414
- Developer licence
- 06-2029/06788Valid 04/06/2024 – 03/06/2029
- Advertising permit
- 06-2029/05106Valid 04/06/2024 – 03/06/2029
- Tenure
- Leasehold 999 yearsLand charged to RHB Bank Berhad
- Units
- 76230% reserved for Bumiputera purchasers
- Permit price band
- RM484,310 – RM971,800Maximum and minimum published for all six types
- Completion
- 52 months from the S&P dateBuilding plan DBKK BP/138/04.24/S/52
Explore related topics
Curated hubs, each with its own guide — not auto-generated tag archives.
Six things worth knowing before you view
Three are unusually good. Three are the sort a brochure leaves out. All six come from documents.
The full permit is published
Licence, permit, validity dates, tenure, encumbrance, unit count, Bumiputera quota, building plan approval number, and a maximum and minimum price for all six types. That is the statutory block done properly, and most developers in this batch did not do it.
999 years, under Sabah land law
Not a 99-year lease. Sabah issues Country Lease and Town Lease titles under its own Land Ordinance, and 999 years is effectively perpetual for any financing or resale purpose. Ask for the title number anyway.
Only 128 four-bedroom units
Types D and D1 at 64 units each. Everything else is two or three bedrooms. If four bedrooms is your requirement, the real inventory here is 128 units minus whatever has already gone from the 79% sold.
The land is charged to a bank
Disclosed on the permit as charged to RHB Bank Berhad. This is normal for a development under construction and the housing development account is with the same bank — but it is an existing encumbrance and your solicitor will want to see the redemption arrangement.
A related-party acquisition is in progress
Bedi Berhad is acquiring the project vehicle from Bedi Development for around RM21.87 million, with common controlling parties on both sides, and reported gearing rising to 1.36 times from 0.78. Not improper, but it is the kind of thing to read the announcements on.
Completion is 52 months from your S&P
Not a calendar date — a period that starts when you sign. That means a late buyer waits as long as an early one, and a 2026 signing implies a 2030 handover. Work out your own date before you commit.
The whole development, decoded
Six layouts, and the permit publishes a unit count and a price band for every one of them — which is rare enough that it is worth using. 190 Type A, 158 Type B, 128 Type B1, 158 Type C, 64 Type D and 64 Type D1, summing to exactly 762. Note the shape of that: only 128 units in the whole development are four-bedroom homes, and the two four-bedroom types differ by one square foot. If you need four bedrooms in Kota Kinabalu, this is a 128-unit project, not a 762-unit one.
Six layouts, four bedroom counts, one price schedule
Type A · 697 sq ft, 2 bed
The largest single group in the development at 190 units, two bedrooms and two bathrooms in 697 sq ft, gazetted from RM484,310 to RM605,800. That is roughly RM695 to RM869 per square foot. The RM121,000 spread within one type is entirely floor level, tower and aspect — which is why the unit number matters more here than the type code.
Type B / B1 · 834 & 898 sq ft, 3 bed
Type B: 158 units, 834 sq ft, three bed two bath, RM577,410 to RM706,800. Type B1: 128 units, 898 sq ft, three rooms plus a study, two bath, RM648,660 to RM765,800. Sixty-four square feet buys you the study and about RM71,000 at the bottom of each band — which works out to roughly RM1,110 per additional square foot, well above the project average. Worth seeing both plans before deciding the study is worth it.
Type C · 963 sq ft, 3+1
158 units at 963 sq ft, three rooms plus one and two bathrooms, gazetted RM693,310 to RM836,800. Sixty-five square feet more than Type B1 for about RM45,000 more at the bottom of the band, which is a much better rate per additional foot than the B to B1 step. If you are choosing between B1 and C on paper, C is the better value move — the question is whether the extra floor area lands where you need it.
Type D / D1 · 1,131 & 1,132 sq ft, 4 bed
Type D: 64 units, 1,131 sq ft, four bed three bath, RM822,510 to RM970,800. Type D1: 64 units, 1,132 sq ft, four bed three bath, RM823,460 to RM971,800. One square foot and about RM1,000 apart — these are the same apartment in mirrored or differently positioned stacks, and the price difference is position, not product. RM971,800 is the highest gazetted price in the development, which is the number that matters for the Sabah threshold question at the top of this page.
Twenty numbered items on the facilities plan
Taken from the developer's own numbered facilities plan legend. Two spaces appear in the official gallery images but not in that legend — a karaoke room and a climbing wall in the gym. Both are official images, so they exist in the design; they are simply not on the numbered plan, and I would ask for them to be confirmed in the S&P schedule rather than assume they survive value engineering.
The numbered facilities plan
- 40m x 9m Pool
- Jacuzzi
- Outdoor Shower
- Gym & Yoga
- Badminton Court / Multi-purpose Hall
- Change Room
- Kids Play Room
- The Patio
- Kids Pool
- Kids Play Nook
- Management Office
- Multi-purpose Room
- BBQ Pavilion 1 & 2
- Herbs Garden
- Games Room & Play Room
- The Veranda
- Broadwalk 1 & 2
- Basketball Court
- Reading Pavilion
- Yoga Pavilion
In the official images, not on the plan
- Karaoke room
- Climbing wall in the gym
The professional team
- Architects: Lateral and KTDA (Kenneth Tan Design Architect)
- Landscape: Salad Dressing, Singapore
- Structure: reinforced concrete frame
- Electrical to SESB standard
Where the project is now
All 6 Residensi Bayu Damai floor plans
Everything below — type code, bedrooms, bathrooms, square footage, unit count and the gazetted maximum and minimum price — comes from the developer's own advertising permit and layout plan. This is the most completely documented project in this batch, and it is worth saying so plainly. Note that Type B1 and Type C are both described as three rooms plus one, where the plus one is a study, and that Type D and D1 differ by a single square foot.

Type A — 697 sq ft, 2 bed 2 bath
Get this floor plan
Type B — 834 sq ft, 3 bed 2 bath
Get this floor plan
Type B1 — 898 sq ft, 3+1
Get this floor plan
Type C — 963 sq ft, 3+1
Get this floor plan
Type D — 1,131 sq ft, 4 bed 3 bath
Get this floor plan
Type D1 — 1,132 sq ft, 4 bed 3 bath
Get this floor planInside Residensi Bayu Damai




































Where Residensi Bayu Damai sits
Off Jalan Fung Yei Ting, Mile 3, Jalan Tuaran, 88450 Kota Kinabalu — the northern corridor out of the city toward Likas and Tuaran, rather than the seafront strip. The developer's sales office is separately at G-07, JQ Central, Coastal Highway, off Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, 88400 Kota Kinabalu.
The developer's own map link resolves to its show village, at roughly 5.9752786, 116.097377. A show village pin is not a surveyed site boundary, so I have set the map to the street the developer publishes rather than printing that coordinate as the building's location. The site itself is on the Mile 3 stretch of Jalan Tuaran; the exact lot will be identified on your sale and purchase agreement.
- Kota Kinabalu International AirportNo figure publishedon the developer's numbered location map, without a distance
- Imago and KK City WaterfrontNo figure publishedon the developer's numbered location map, without a distance
- Queen Elizabeth Hospital I & IINo figure publishedon the developer's numbered location map, without a distance
- Gleneagles Kota Kinabalu and KPJ Sabah SpecialistNo figure publishedon the developer's numbered location map, without a distance
- Likas Stadium and KK Sports ComplexNo figure publishedon the developer's numbered location map, without a distance
- Sabah Golf & Country ClubNo figure publishedon the developer's numbered location map, without a distance
- Kota Kinabalu city centre~3.5 kmagent figure, not the developer's — verify by driving it
This project is not in the federal housing register — and the reason is jurisdictional, not a red flag
Every other project page on this website carries a table read from teduh.kpkt.gov.my, the housing register kept by the federal Ministry of Housing and Local Government: permit number, licensed developer, unit count, permitted price band, certified construction percentage, project status.
There is no such table here, and I would rather explain why than leave a gap you might misread.
What I searched, and what came back
I searched the federal register nationally for “Bayu Damai”. Zero results for this project.
There is one record in the database called Taman Bayu Damai, held by a company called Solidus Development Sdn Bhd — and it is a different development in a different state. I am naming it here for one reason: if you search this register yourself, that is what you will hit, and it has nothing to do with this project. Attaching someone else’s record to this page because the names are similar would be the single most damaging thing this website could do.
Sabah is not covered by the federal register
Housing development licensing in Sabah is governed by Sabah’s own state legislation and administered by the state, not by the federal ministry. The Housing Development (Control and Licensing) Act 1966 — the law that produces the advertising permits, the statutory sale and purchase agreement and the certified progress returns this website reads for every peninsular project — applies to Peninsular Malaysia. Sabah has its own enactment and its own controller of housing.
The federal register therefore contains no Sabah projects by design. Searching it for a Sabah development and finding nothing tells you exactly as much as searching a Selangor directory for a Johor address.
What this means for you in practice
You are not less protected. You are protected under a different statute, by a different authority, and you have to ask a different office.
Ask the developer, in writing, for its Sabah developer’s licence number and its Sabah advertising permit number. These exist and they are required. They should appear on the brochure and in the sale and purchase agreement.
Verify them with the Sabah state housing authority, not the federal ministry. The federal ministry cannot confirm a Sabah licence, and will say so.
Read the sale and purchase agreement rather than assuming it mirrors the peninsular one. The statutory schedules, delivery period and late-delivery compensation are set by Sabah’s own subsidiary legislation. Do not assume the figures published for peninsular projects — including elsewhere on this website — apply here. Have your own lawyer confirm what your agreement says about the completion date and what happens if it slips.
Foreign buyers: assume nothing carries over
Everything this website publishes about non-citizen purchase thresholds, state consent and exempt zones is state-specific. Johor is not Selangor, Selangor is not Penang, and none of them is Sabah.
Sabah sets its own minimum purchase price for non-citizens and runs its own consent process, and it has land categories with restrictions that have no peninsular equivalent. Get the current Sabah position from a Sabah-qualified lawyer before committing to anything, and do not rely on a peninsular figure — including any figure elsewhere on this site.
For this project, the developer’s own FAQ gives RM600,000: it states that foreigners may buy with an SPA price of RM600,000 and above. The Bar Council state table shows RM1,000,000. Until those two agree, get written confirmation through a Sabah conveyancing solicitor for the specific unit and price before you commit.
Why I am publishing an absence
Because the alternative is worse. If this page simply had no register section, a careful reader would notice the gap and wonder what I had failed to find. And a reader who searched the federal register themselves would either get zero results, or — worse here — land on a similarly named project belonging to someone else.
Neither is a warning about this development. Now you know where the boundary sits, what the false match is, and what to ask for instead.
Federal register searched at teduh.kpkt.gov.my on 27 August 2026. Search term “Bayu Damai”, national scope. One unrelated record found and rejected.
About FYT Land (KK) Sdn Bhd
The vendor on the statutory notice is FYT Land (KK) Sdn Bhd, at G-07, Ground Floor, JQ Central, Coastal Highway, off Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, 88400 Kota Kinabalu. The project website is operated under BEDI Development Sdn. Bhd. 202001008414 (1364734-A), and EXSIM Group markets the development as its own. Three names, one project — and for legal purposes the one that matters is the vendor on the notice.
This developer publishes the statutory block properly and in full, and I want that on the record because it is the exception in this batch. Developer's licence 06-2029/06788 and advertising permit 06-2029/05106, both valid 4 June 2024 to 3 June 2029. Land tenure leasehold 999 years. Land charged to RHB Bank Berhad. Housing development account with RHB. Building plan approved by Kota Kinabalu City Hall under BP/138/04.24/S/52. 762 units. 30% reserved for Bumiputera. Expected completion 52 months from the sale and purchase agreement date. Maximum and minimum selling price published for all six types.
Now the parts a brochure will not lead with. The land is charged to RHB Bank Berhad — that is an existing encumbrance, disclosed on the permit as the law requires, and it is normal, but you should know it is there.
FYT Land (KK) Sdn Bhd is a project company incorporated around August 2022 with no completed delivery record of its own, and this is EXSIM's first residential project in Sabah — its track record is in the Klang Valley.
There is an active related-party transaction. In June 2026 Bedi Berhad, listed on Bursa Malaysia as stock code 6378 and formerly WMG Holdings Bhd, announced the acquisition of FYT Land from Bedi Development Sdn Bhd for around RM21.87 million, with common controlling parties on both sides — Bedi's managing director holds an interest through Bedi Development, and other parties hold indirect interests through EXSIM Borneo Sdn Bhd, which controls 52.5% of Bedi Berhad. Business press reported that Bedi's gearing would rise to 1.36 times from 0.78 times once the target companies' borrowings are consolidated, with funding partly contingent on completing a separate disposal.
As at 3 June 2026, 603 of the 762 units were sold — 79.13%, leaving about 159 units unsold roughly two years after the permit was issued.
I searched specifically for delay litigation, abandonment and winding-up actions against FYT Land, Bedi Development and EXSIM and found none. That is no adverse record found, which is not the same as a clean record.






Frequently asked questions
Can a foreigner buy at Residensi Bayu Damai?
I genuinely cannot give you a settled answer, and I am going to explain the contradiction rather than pick the side that sells more units.
The Bar Council Conveyancing Practice Committee's own state-by-state table records Sabah's minimum purchase price for residential property acquired by a non-citizen as RM1,000,000. The highest gazetted price in this development is RM971,800. On that rule, not one of the 762 units is transactable by a foreigner, a Singaporean or a Malaysian permanent resident — short by RM28,200.
A different figure of RM600,000 for high-rise strata, with RM1,000,000 for landed, is widely quoted and attributed to a state circular. On that rule, effectively the whole development is open.
The developer’s own FAQ for Residensi Bayu Damai states that foreigners may buy at an SPA price of RM600,000 and above. That matches the lower figure, but it is the developer’s statement about its own project, not a ruling from the state — and the Bar Council table still shows RM1,000,000. Treat it as a reason to ask, not as the answer.
I could not reach any online Sabah housing or land register to resolve which is operative today, and I am not prepared to publish a guess on something this consequential.
So the answer is a process, not a number: instruct a Sabah conveyancing solicitor to obtain a written confirmation from the Sabah Lands and Surveys Department for the specific unit, type and price you intend to buy, before you pay a booking fee. Sabah also requires State Authority consent on top of the price test.
Whatever the threshold turns out to be, also budget the flat 8% stamp duty applying to non-citizens on residential property since 1 January 2026, and note that real property gains tax for non-citizens is 30% for a disposal within five years and 10% from the sixth year, with no zero band.
What does “52 months from the S&P date” actually mean for me?
It means there is no fixed handover date for the building, only a clock that starts on the day you sign.
Sign in September 2026 and 52 months lands in January 2031. Sign a year earlier and you get keys a year earlier. This is the standard formulation in a Malaysian sale and purchase agreement and it is the number your liquidated damages claim would be measured against if the developer is late.
Aggregator sites quote a Q4 2028 completion. That figure is not on the developer's own material and does not follow from the permit, so I have not used it.
Practical advice: work out your own 52-month date before you sign, and plan your financing, your rental cover and your rent-versus-own decision around that date rather than around a marketing year.
What is the difference between the permit price and the price I am quoted?
The permit band is the registered range the developer is legally bound within: RM484,310 at the bottom for a Type A, RM971,800 at the top for a Type D1. Marketing and aggregator copy quotes a narrower range of roughly RM509,800 to RM961,800.
Those are not the same thing and you should not treat them as interchangeable. The permit band is a legal outer boundary. The price that binds you is the one written into your sale and purchase agreement, and it can differ from the permit figure for the same type — compare the two before you sign.
The useful consequence is that you can check any quote you are given against the permit. If someone quotes you above the gazetted maximum for that type, ask why in writing.
I take the current price list and the remaining unsold stack list directly from the developer, and I will send both.
Is this an affordable housing or government scheme?
No, despite the name. “Residensi” is used widely in Malaysian project naming and it does not imply a state scheme here.
This is a private open-market development by FYT Land (KK) Sdn Bhd, under the BEDI Development and EXSIM umbrella. There is no income ceiling, no Sabah-resident-only rule and no state agency programme disclosed anywhere in the developer's material.
The only allocation restriction on the permit is the standard one: 30% of units reserved for Bumiputera purchasers. Whether that quota is released to the open market after a set period is not stated, and it is a fair question to ask if the unit you want is inside it.
Should I worry about the Bedi Berhad acquisition?
Worry is the wrong word. Read the announcements is the right one, and here is what they say.
In June 2026 Bedi Berhad, Bursa stock code 6378 and formerly WMG Holdings Bhd, announced the acquisition of FYT Land (KK) Sdn Bhd from Bedi Development Sdn Bhd for an indicative RM21.27 million, finalised at around RM21.87 million. It is a related-party transaction: Bedi's managing director holds an interest through Bedi Development, and other parties hold indirect interests through EXSIM Borneo Sdn Bhd, which controls 52.5% of Bedi Berhad.
Business press reported that Bedi's gearing would rise to 1.36 times from 0.78 times once the target companies' borrowings are consolidated, with interim funding from internal funds and bank borrowings pending completion of a separate hypermarket disposal of up to RM46.19 million.
None of that is improper and related-party acquisitions are routine on Bursa. But a buyer whose completion date is 52 months away has a legitimate interest in the balance sheet of the group that will finish the building. The announcements are public. Read them, or ask me and I will send the references.
The reassuring counterweight: your money sits in a housing development account with RHB, and payments are made against certified construction stages, not into a general account.
What does the 999-year lease mean in Sabah?
It means the title was issued for a 999-year term under the Sabah Land Ordinance, Cap. 68 — Sabah has its own land law and does not use the National Land Code. Titles here are Country Lease or Town Lease rather than the freehold and 99-year leasehold categories familiar on the Peninsula.
For financing and resale purposes a 999-year term behaves as effectively perpetual. No bank is pricing tenure risk on a 900-plus year remainder.
There is relevant recent history. After a High Court ruling in March 2020, Sabah restored 999-year terms on 5,978 Country Lease titles, the practice in the 1990s of cutting 900 years off those leases having been held unlawful. That is background rather than a warning, but it is why Sabah tenure deserves an actual title search rather than an assumption.
Ask for the title number and have a Sabah conveyancing solicitor read the term and the commencement date. It is a short job and it removes the only real question about the tenure here.
Which layout is the best value on the permit numbers?
Type C, and the permit lets you prove it rather than take my word for it.
Going from Type B at 834 sq ft to Type B1 at 898 sq ft costs about RM71,000 more at the band minimum for 64 extra square feet — roughly RM1,110 per additional square foot.
Going from Type B1 at 898 sq ft to Type C at 963 sq ft costs about RM45,000 more for 65 extra square feet — roughly RM692 per additional square foot, which is close to the entry price per square foot for the whole development.
So the B to B1 step is the expensive one and the B1 to C step is the cheap one. That does not automatically make C right for you — it depends on where the floor area lands and how many bedrooms you need — but it is the sort of arithmetic that is only possible because this developer published the whole schedule.
Send me the two or three types you are weighing and I will lay them out side by side with the current pricing rather than the permit band.
What has not been published?
Less than most projects I write about, which is why the gaps are worth naming precisely. The storey count for each tower is not stated — aggregator sites say 39 for Tower A and 34 for Tower B, and I have not used those. The land area is not stated; 10.2 acres and 10.02 acres both circulate. The car park ratio is not stated. The maintenance fee is not stated — RM0.39 per square foot including sinking fund circulates on review sites and I could not trace it to any developer document. The construction completion percentage is not stated, only dated photographs.
One marketing claim I have deliberately not repeated: GreenRE certification. It appears in aggregator copy and not on bayudamai.com.my or exsim.com.my. Earthquake resistance was in the same category until the developer’s own FAQ (May 2024) addressed it: the developer states that the building is designed and checked against the Sabah code of practice for earthquake resistance. That is the developer’s statement, not an independent certificate — in a state with genuine seismic history, ask the developer which code and which engineer signed it off, and have your lawyer note the answer in writing.
Also not verified: the licence and permit numbers themselves. They are published by the developer, which is a great deal better than nothing, but I could not confirm them against a Sabah state register because none was reachable online. Your solicitor can.
Is Kota Kinabalu oversupplied?
I am going to be careful here, because I do not have a Sabah-specific NAPIC figure I can stand behind for the current quarter.
What I can tell you is the national picture and where Sabah is not. NAPIC recorded Malaysia's residential overhang at 32,801 completed unsold units in Q1 2026, the sixth consecutive quarterly increase. Five states were named as carrying the largest overhang — Perak led the country at 4,063 units and Penang was fifth at 3,165, with Johor, Selangor and Kuala Lumpur between them. Sabah was not among the five.
I have seen a figure of 2,771 unsold completed units in Sabah quoted for Q3 2025, but I could not trace it to a primary NAPIC document, so I am not presenting it as verified. Sabah's house price index also contracted 2.3% in Q1 2026, one of only two states to fall.
The project-specific number is more useful than any state average anyway: 603 of 762 units sold as at 3 June 2026, leaving about 159 unsold roughly two years after launch. Roughly 21% remaining at that point is a real absorption signal, and it is the number I would negotiate against.
Malaysian buyer, or waiting on a letter from Lands and Surveys?
If you hold a Malaysian passport, the whole 762-unit schedule is open and I can tell you which stacks are left out of the 159 unsold as at June 2026. If you do not, the first thing to obtain is a written ruling from the Sabah Lands and Surveys Department on the threshold that applies to your unit and price. I will tell you exactly what to ask for and put you in front of a Sabah conveyancing solicitor before you pay anything.
No agent fee payable by the buyer on new developer launches
Louis Koh
11 years in Malaysian property · Johor Bahru & Kuala Lumpur new launches · English & 中文
I work with cross-border buyers from Singapore and with local investors. I'll tell you when a project isn't right for you — that's usually worth more than the brochure.
Published 2026-08-12 · Last verified 2026-08-12 against FYT Land (KK) Sdn Bhd's published project material. Unit availability, pricing and completion dates are set by the developer and subject to change. This page is marketing information, not an offer or a contract.
Ask a specific question
If you would rather not use WhatsApp, use this. I answer them myself. Only your name and one contact method are required.
Developer: FYT Land (1 development on this site)
Where it is: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah





