Skip to main content
🇲🇾 11 years in Malaysian property · Johor Bahru & Kuala Lumpur new launches
Empire City, Damansara Perdana · HCK Capital Group

Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower

Office suites on levels 5 to 25 of a 38-storey Grade-A tower, about 560 to 795 sq ft, from RM551,000, sitting directly above the Hextar World Mall. Commercial title, commercial rules — read the first FAQ before anything else.

Commercial office suites, not homesLevels 5–25 of a 38-storey towerAbout 560–795 sq ft · two dual-key typesRetail mall directly belowTower already built and operating

⚡ Typical reply within 15 minutes, 9am–10pm MYT · No obligation

21Levels of suites
4Published suite types
9,000Car park bays in the tower
HCK Tower facade, main exterior at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor
HCK Tower facade, main exterior
Aerial view of HCK Tower and Empire City at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Aerial view of HCK Tower and Empire City
Aerial view from a second angle at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Aerial view from a second angle
Answer block

Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower at a glance

Read the second row first. This is not a home. HCK Tower is described by its own developer as a Grade-A lifestyle and business tower with roughly one million square feet of corporate office and one and a half million square feet of serviced office suites; levels 5 to 25 are the suite band and Platinum Premium Suites is that band. The developer's press describes the product as premium SOFO suites and its Bursa-filed annual report lists the site as Platinum Premium Suites and Premier Corporate Offices. Every consequence on this page flows from that one classification — the foreign-buyer threshold, the stamp duty, the utility tariff, the financing margin and the statutory protections all change when a purchase is commercial rather than residential. The rest of the table is taken from HCK's own website, its 2026 press placements and its annual report, and where two of those sources disagree I have said so in the row.

Development
Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK TowerBy Light Odyssey Sdn Bhd, HCK Capital Group
Property type
Commercial office suitesMarketed as premium SOFO suites, not a housing product
Tenure
LeaseholdExpiry year not published by the developer
Position in the tower
Levels 5 to 25Twenty-one levels inside a 38-storey building
Total suites
326 on the developer websiteThe developer's own 2026 press states 305 — see the FAQ
Suite sizes
About 560 – 795 sq ftFloor plan page shows 560+, 600+, 600+ and 700+
Dual key
Types C and DTwo separate spaces under one title
Facilities level
Level 5Co-working, meeting rooms, gyms, gardens
Retail podium
Hextar World Mall, directly belowFour-storey podium; ice rink, cinema, grocer, school
Car park
9,000 bays, three basement levelsTower-wide figure; allocation per suite not published
Price
From RM551,000Project website; an official social post says RM468,000
Furnishing
Fully furnished packages offeredManaged by MAPLEHOME under an HCK tie-up
Completion
Not published by the developerDeliberately blank on this page — see the FAQ
Foreign buyers
No, on priceSelangor commercial floor is RM3,000,000
Why this address

Six things that decide whether these suites suit you

Everything about this purchase turns on one classification. HCK Tower is a commercial office building; the suites on levels 5 to 25 are marketed as premium SOFO suites; the group's own annual report files them alongside Premier Corporate Offices. That is not a technicality — a commercial purchase in Selangor faces a RM3,000,000 minimum price for non-citizens rather than RM2,000,000, does not attract the 8% non-citizen stamp duty that applies to residential property, is billed at commercial utility and assessment rates, is typically financed at a lower margin over a shorter tenure, and very likely sits outside the Housing Development Act altogether. Six of the paragraphs below are consequences of that single line.

🏛

Commercial means RM3 million, not RM2 million

Selangor sets a minimum purchase price for non-citizens by zone, and it sets a separate, higher minimum for the commercial and industrial sub-segments: RM3,000,000 across the state. Petaling Jaya is in Zone 1 where the residential floor is RM2,000,000, but that residential figure is irrelevant to an office suite. At a published entry price of RM551,000 and a top size of about 795 sq ft, no suite in this building is remotely near RM3,000,000. A non-citizen — and in Malaysian land law that term includes permanent residents — cannot buy here. There is a second layer beyond price too, described in the next paragraph. Have a Malaysian conveyancing solicitor confirm the current Selangor land office circular before you rely on any of this, because these are state guidelines and they get revised.

🏢

Even above the threshold, a foreign buyer needs a Malaysian company

This is the part most people have never heard, and it is why the RM3,000,000 threshold is only half the answer. Under the Ministry of Economy's Guideline on the Acquisition of Properties, which took effect on 13 July 2022, an acquisition of commercial property by a foreign interest is subject to the condition that the property be registered under a locally incorporated company, and such a company held by foreign interest is expected to carry paid-up capital of at least RM250,000. In plain terms: a foreigner does not buy a Malaysian commercial unit in a personal name the way a foreigner buys a condominium. You incorporate, you capitalise, you register the property to the company, and you then carry the annual compliance cost of that company for as long as you hold the asset. That changes the arithmetic on a small suite considerably. It does not arise at all here because the price does not qualify, but if you are looking at commercial property in Malaysia generally, this is the rule to bring to your solicitor first.

🧾

The 8% non-citizen stamp duty does not apply here

From 1 January 2026 a flat 8% transfer stamp duty applies to non-citizens acquiring residential property in Malaysia. Office suites are not residential, so that instrument does not reach this purchase. That sounds like good news and it is worth being precise about how limited the good news is. Real property gains tax still applies on the way out, and for a non-citizen it is 30% on the gain within five years and 10% from the sixth year onwards with no zero band no matter how long you hold. Your assessment and your utilities are billed at commercial rather than domestic rates for the whole holding period. And the RM3,000,000 threshold shuts the door before any of the tax questions arise. A lower stamp duty on a transaction you are not permitted to make is not a saving.

🛡

Very likely outside the Housing Development Act

In Malaysian practice, SOFO and SOVO units are generally not governed by the Housing Development Act; they are sold on non-statutory agreements and regulated through the local authority instead. Serviced apartments and SOHO units on commercial titles are usually still within the Act. This project is marketed as SOFO. I could not obtain a sale and purchase schedule, an advertising permit or a housing registry entry that settles the question either way, so treat this as strongly indicated rather than documented. Why it matters: inside the Act you get a prescribed sale and purchase agreement, liquidated damages at a statutory rate, a defect liability period with statutory backing, progress payments held in a housing development account, and access to the homebuyer tribunal. Outside it, every one of those is whatever your contract says it is. Ask HCK directly, in writing, whether this sale is HDA-governed, and read the actual agreement before you sign rather than the brochure.

🏬

A working mall underneath is a real, checkable asset

The Hextar World Mall sits directly below the suites as a four-storey retail podium, and the anchors HCK names are specific rather than aspirational: a cinema operator, a hypermarket-grade grocer, a department store, a food hall, an international school and the national ice skating stadium with an Olympic-sized rink. That last one is unusual enough to be a genuine traffic driver rather than a filler tenant. For a small office, footfall underneath your building is not a lifestyle feature, it is a business input: it determines whether a client can find you, park, get lunch and leave without irritation. Two cautions. HCK describes the mall as 2.5 million sq ft on its own tower site and as 1.8 million sq ft in a 2026 press placement, so treat the size figure as unsettled. And go and see which of the named tenants are actually trading today rather than announced.

⚠

The marketing says home; the title says office

This is the contradiction to have your eyes open about. The official project site addresses a young family, a digital nomad and a short-stay rental entrepreneur, and the developer's own 2026 advertorials repeatedly call the product the residence and describe it as a first home for newlyweds. The tower it sits inside is described by the same developer as a Grade-A business tower with corporate office and serviced office suite components, and the annual report files it beside Premier Corporate Offices. Both descriptions come from HCK. They cannot both govern your title. If you intend to live in it, or to run short-stay letting from it, that intention has to be checked against the actual land use condition on the title, the building's certificate of completion and compliance, the house rules of the management, and the local council's position on short-stay accommodation. None of those are settled by a brochure that calls it a residence.

Project DNA

The whole development, decoded

The unusual thing about this project is that the building already exists. HCK Tower has been standing and operating since around 2021 — the lobby, the lifts, the car park, the security and the corporate tenants above and below the suite band are not renders, they are visitable this afternoon. That removes an entire category of risk you carry on an ordinary off-plan purchase: you can walk the actual lift lobby you will use, ride the actual lift, park in the actual basement and see what condition the common property is kept in. Very few new launches in the Klang Valley let you do that. Use it. Go on a weekday at eight in the morning and again at six in the evening, not on a Sunday when the sales gallery is quiet.

21Levels of suites
38Storeys in the tower
4Suite types
560Sq ft, smallest suite

Where the suites sit, and what is above and below them

What you are buying

Levels 5 to 25 — the suite band

HCK Tower states that the fifth to twenty-fifth floors have been earmarked for premium lifestyle suites, and its 2026 press describes the product as spanning twenty-one levels. That places every suite low to mid-rise inside a 38-storey building, which has two practical effects worth thinking about. The good one: a level 5 facilities deck means you are never more than twenty floors from it, and lift waiting times in a low band are shorter than in a high band. The one to weigh: your outlook from levels 5 to 25 in Damansara Perdana is largely at or below the height of neighbouring Empire City towers, so if a view is part of what you are paying for, go up to the actual floor before you decide rather than trusting a render photographed from level 30.

5–25Levels
21Levels in total
5Facilities level
Type A · 560+ sq ftType B · 600+ sq ftType C · 600+ sq ft dual keyType D · 700+ sq ft dual key
💬 Ask about Levels 5 to 25 — the suite band
Your neighbours

The rest of the tower — corporate offices and the retail base

You are buying into a building that is already running. HCK describes the tower as 38 storeys with roughly one million square feet of corporate office space alongside the suite component, three basement car park levels holding 9,000 bays and six drop-off zones. The group's own offices are on levels 38 to 42 — a detail worth noticing twice, because it means the developer is a permanent occupier of the building it is selling you a piece of, which aligns its interest in the common property with yours far more than an absentee developer would. It is also the reason for a small discrepancy: the tower is officially 38 storeys, yet HCK's own addresses reference levels up to 42. Ask which numbering the strata plan uses. On a commercial building the floor number on your title is what you will be quoting to tenants for the next twenty years.

38Storeys, official
9,000Car park bays
6Drop-off zones
Corporate office component above and belowHextar World Mall as the retail baseDeveloper occupies levels 38 to 42Three basement car park levels
💬 Ask about The rest of the tower — corporate offices and the retail base

What HCK actually documents, level by level

The facilities that come with a suite are on level 5 and the developer describes them as co-owned spaces: co-working areas, meeting rooms, gardens and gyms. Below that sits the retail podium, and Empire City supplies a third layer of amenity beyond the building line. One thing is worth saying because its absence surprises people: no swimming pool appears anywhere in HCK's official material for this tower, and I have not put one on the list. If a pool matters to you, ask the gallery to point to it on a stamped plan before you assume it exists.

Level 5 — the co-owned spaces

The facilities that come with a suite
  • Co-working areas
  • Meeting rooms
  • Gyms
  • Gardens
  • No swimming pool appears in any official material for this tower

Hextar World Mall, directly below

Four-storey retail podium, tenants named by HCK
  • Malaysia National Ice Skating Stadium, Olympic-sized rink
  • 10Star Cinemas
  • Parkson department store
  • Village Grocer
  • NOMNOM Food Hall
  • Trin International School
  • Luckin Coffee and MYNISS

Tower and Empire City level

Beyond the suite, still on the developer's list
  • Grade-A security and surveillance
  • Three basement car park levels, 9,000 bays
  • Shuttle bus service to MRT stations
  • Al Fresco Retail Park
  • About 10 acres of parks, Hill Park with bamboo trails and a lake garden
  • KPJ and MyEG offices within walking distance

Not published, therefore not on this page

The list I take to the developer for you
  • Land title category and lease expiry year
  • Whether the sale is governed by the Housing Development Act
  • Developer licence and advertising permit numbers
  • Completion or vacant possession date
  • Maintenance charge and sinking fund rate
  • Exact square footage and car park bays per suite type
  • Land area, plot ratio and gross development value

Where the project is now

About 2021HCK Tower completed and operating
Aug 2025HCK and MAPLEHOME announce a property management tie-up through Light Odyssey
FY2025 annual reportPlatinum Premium Suites and Premier Corporate Offices listed as a new project under construction
2026Selling from RM551,000; no completion date published by the developer
Layouts

All 4 Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower floor plans

HCK publishes four suite types on its floor plan page, described by size band rather than by exact area: Type A at 560 plus, Type B at 600 plus, Type C at 600 plus as a dual key, and Type D at 700 plus as a dual key. Its 2026 press describes the overall range as approximately 560 to 795 sq ft, which means the 795 sits above what the floor plan page shows and the two are not perfectly reconciled. Sizes written as a band with a plus sign are a warning to get the exact square footage for the specific suite in writing, because on a 560 sq ft office the difference between 560 and 599 is seven per cent of what you are buying.

Type A floor plan, about 560 sq ft at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Type A — 560 plus sq ft

Smallest published type · single key

Entry sizeVirtual tour publishedExact area not stated
Get this floor plan
Type B floor plan, about 600 sq ft at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Type B — 600 plus sq ft

Single key · same band as Type C

One spaceSame band as CExact area not stated
Get this floor plan
Type C floor plan, about 600 sq ft dual key at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Type C — 600 plus sq ft, dual key

Dual key · two doors, one title

Dual keyTwo tenancies possibleExact area not stated
Get this floor plan
Type D floor plan, about 700 sq ft dual key at Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower by HCK Capital Group, Empire City, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Type D — 700 plus sq ft, dual key

Largest published type · dual key

Dual keyLargest typeVirtual tour published
Get this floor plan
Location & connectivity

Where Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK Tower sits

The suites are inside HCK Tower, No. 8 Jalan Damansara, Empire City, PJU 8, 47820 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, which is the address the developer prints on every one of its own pages. The tower is already standing and operating — the sales gallery, called the Infinite Gallery, is on level 39 of the same building, and the group's own corporate offices occupy levels 38 to 42. Empire City sits in Damansara Perdana, in the Petaling district of Selangor, which places the property in Zone 1 of the state's framework for foreign purchasers and under Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya for assessment and planning.

Open in Google Maps →
📍 HCK Tower, No. 8 Jalan Damansara, Empire City, PJU 847820 Petaling Jaya

HCK has not published a latitude and longitude for the tower, so this map is a name-and-address search rather than a developer-supplied coordinate. Empire City is a large site with several towers and more than one entrance; if you are visiting the gallery, ask reception which drop-off zone to use, because there are six of them.

HCK publishes highways and shopping, and almost no distances. Its tower site names the LDP, NKVE, SPRINT, Penchala Link and DASH, and says 1 Utama, The Curve, IKEA Damansara and eCurve are within a five-kilometre drive. That five-kilometre line is the only measured statement it makes. On rail, the developer says the tower is connected to the MRT Kajang Line and runs a shuttle bus service, but it does not name a station or give a distance. The nearest station is Mutiara Damansara. Anything more precise than that would be me guessing, so it is not on this page.
💬 Ask me about the real drive times
  • Hextar World Malldirectly belowthe retail podium of the same building
  • 1 Utama, The Curve, IKEA Damansara, eCurvewithin a 5 km drivethe only measured statement on the developer's tower site
  • LDP, NKVE, SPRINT, Penchala Link, DASHfive highways, no interchange distance givennamed on the developer's tower site
  • MRT Kajang Lineshuttle bus, no station namedthe nearest station is Mutiara Damansara; the developer gives no distance
  • KPJ and MyEG offices, Empire Citywalking distancedeveloper's own wording
  • Sales gallery, Infinite Gallerylevel 39 of the same towersales office on level 40
The government record

I searched the register properly and could not place this project — and there is one near-miss you should know about before you search yourself

Every other project page on this website carries a table read from teduh.kpkt.gov.my — permit number, licensed developer, unit count, permitted price band, certified construction percentage, project status. I could not produce one here, and I would rather show my working than leave a silent gap.

What I searched

By licensed company: “Light Odyssey Sdn Bhd”, the name printed on this page, against every licence holder in the Johor, Kuala Lumpur, Selangor and Penang registers. Zero results.

By project name: “Platinum Premium” and “HCK”, nationally. Zero results.

The near-miss, and why it is not this project

Searching “Platinum” returns a substantial group of records held by companies carrying the Platinum Victory name — a different developer group entirely, with its own licences and its own projects.

I am flagging it for one reason. Among those records are a scheme with the status Lewat (late) and another with Permit Telah Dibatalkan (permit cancelled). If you search this register for “Platinum” yourself, you will hit them, and it would be very easy to read them as being about this project.

They are not. Different licence numbers, different companies, different addresses. Finding them without this explanation would be worse than not finding them at all — which is precisely why I am printing it rather than quietly leaving it out.

What “not found” does and does not mean

Failing to find a project in this register is not evidence that it is unlicensed.

Two proofs from this website. “Fraser Heights” appears in the register word for word. “BEE” appears nowhere — and BEE has two entirely valid permits, registered as Taman Nusa Permata. And on the Setia Sky 88 page the correct records were invisible to any name search because the register’s project-name field contained the company name instead of a project name.

So several honest readings remain: the project may not have reached the permit stage yet; it may be licensed to a company other than the one named here; or it may be registered under a statutory name I cannot connect to it. On this site the register calls Papyrus “Residensi Papirus Yakin” and South Hills “Taman Puncak Selatan”. One changed word makes a project invisible.

The one question that closes the gap

“What is the project code and advertising permit number for the unit you are offering me, and which company holds the licence?” In writing.

With a code you can read the whole record yourself in about a minute at teduh.kpkt.gov.my/semakan-status-kemajuan.

And it is not a formality. Under the Housing Development Act a developer may not lawfully advertise or sell units in a phase without a valid advertising and developer’s licence, and the statutory sale and purchase agreement — with late-delivery compensation at 10% per annum of the purchase price for strata housing — is tied to that licence.

Register searched at teduh.kpkt.gov.my on 27 August 2026, by company name and project name, national scope. A group of similarly named records found and rejected, with reasons above.

How to run this check yourself — the seven status words, why searching by marketing name fails, and the register status of all 175 developments on this site →

Track record

About Light Odyssey Sdn Bhd, HCK Capital Group

The company you will contract with is Light Odyssey Sdn Bhd, registration number 201201040728 (1025206-W). That is not an inference from a database — it appears three times in the developer's own material: in the group structure section of HCK Capital Group Berhad's Bursa-filed Annual Report 2025 as a wholly owned subsidiary, in the footer of the HCK Tower website with the note member of the HCK Group, and in the data consent clause on the Platinum Premium Suites site itself. Its registered address is levels 38 to 42 of the tower the suites are in.

The listed parent is HCK Capital Group Berhad, registration number 199901010064 (484964-H), on the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia under stock code 7105, listed since August 2000. Executive chairman Tan Sri Clement Hii Chii Kok; the property division is led by managing director Foong Peng Yew. Because the parent is listed, its numbers are public, and a page that quoted only the good ones would not be worth reading.

Here are the numbers, from the group's own annual report and its Bursa quarterly filings. For the financial year ended 31 December 2025, revenue was RM146.39 million against RM493.41 million the year before — a fall of 70.3%. The group attributes this to a one-off recognition of property trading stock in 2024, to most projects being more than 90% sold and completed, and to new projects still being early enough that they contribute little. Profit before tax was RM15.73 million against RM14.90 million, but the annual report states the increase was mainly due to a gain on the partial disposal of a subsidiary rather than from operations. Net assets stood at RM525.52 million with net assets per share of RM0.84. Then, for the quarter ended 31 March 2026, the group reported revenue of RM31.4 million and a net loss of RM5.2 million. Three of the last five reported quarters were loss-making, and the full-year 2025 profit rested entirely on the second half.

What that means for you, stated plainly and without drama. None of it is evidence of a problem at this project — I found no delay or abandonment record for Platinum Premium Suites, the tower it sits in is already built and operating, and the group's own risk commentary acknowledges the market may bring project delays and rising construction costs. But you are buying an unfinished fit-out inside a standing building from a company whose earnings are currently thin and whose most recent quarter was a loss. On a commercial product that very likely sits outside the Housing Development Act, you do not get a housing development account, a statutory sale and purchase schedule or a homebuyer tribunal to fall back on. So the developer's balance sheet is not background colour here; it is part of the security you are relying on.

One more thing worth knowing about the group's appetite. HCK stepped in as the party that took over the stalled Empire Remix 1 and 2 project in USJ1 and rebranded it into an education-led scheme, a deal reported by The Edge. Taking on other people's abandoned projects tells you something real about a developer: it has the stomach and the balance sheet for complexity. It also tells you the group operates at the difficult end of the market rather than the easy end. Both halves of that sentence are true and you should hold them together.

Straight answers

Frequently asked questions

Can a foreigner buy an office suite at Platinum Premium Suites?

No, and there are two independent reasons rather than one.

The first is price. Selangor applies a minimum purchase price to non-citizens, and for the commercial and industrial sub-segments it sets a separate, higher figure of RM3,000,000 across the state. That is not the RM2,000,000 residential floor that applies in Zone 1 — a different rule for a different product. The published entry price here is RM551,000 and the largest suite is about 795 sq ft. Nothing in this building is within a factor of three of the threshold.

The second reason applies even to a foreign buyer who could clear RM3,000,000 elsewhere, and almost nobody mentions it. Under the Ministry of Economy's Guideline on the Acquisition of Properties, effective 13 July 2022, acquisition of commercial property by a foreign interest is subject to the property being registered under a locally incorporated company, and a local company held by foreign interest is expected to have paid-up capital of at least RM250,000. You do not buy a Malaysian commercial unit in a personal name the way you would buy a condominium. You incorporate, you capitalise, you register the property to the company, and you carry that company's annual compliance cost for as long as you hold the asset.

One more definitional point that catches people: in Malaysian land law, foreign interest includes Malaysian permanent residents. Holding PR does not put you on the citizen side of this line.

None of this is legal advice and thresholds move. Have a Malaysian conveyancing solicitor confirm the current Selangor land office circular and the current Ministry of Economy guideline before you rely on any figure on this page, including mine.

Does the 8% non-citizen stamp duty apply to an office suite?

No. The flat 8% transfer stamp duty that applies to non-citizens from 1 January 2026 covers residential property. An office suite is not residential, so that instrument does not reach this transaction.

Before that sounds like an advantage, note how narrow it is. The RM3,000,000 commercial threshold blocks the purchase entirely, so a non-citizen never gets far enough to benefit from the stamp duty position. A lower rate on a transaction you are not permitted to make is not a saving.

What does apply to any owner of this property, citizen or not: assessment and utilities at commercial rather than domestic rates for the whole holding period, which on a fitted-out office running air-conditioning and equipment is a recurring monthly difference you should model rather than discover.

And on exit, real property gains tax applies to everyone. For a non-citizen it is 30% on the gain for a disposal within five years and 10% from the sixth year onwards, with no zero band no matter how long you hold — which is different from the treatment a citizen eventually gets.

For a Malaysian buyer the stamp duty on this purchase follows the ordinary ad valorem scale for a transfer of property. Ask your solicitor to compute it on the actual contract price rather than the headline, and remember it is a cash item payable on the instrument.

Is this purchase protected by the Housing Development Act?

Probably not, and I want to be careful about how I say that because I could not obtain a document that settles it.

In Malaysian practice, SOFO and SOVO units are generally not governed by the Housing Development (Control and Licensing) Act 1966. They are sold on the developer's own agreement and regulated through the local authority. Serviced apartments and SOHO units on commercial titles usually do remain within the Act. This product is described by the developer's own press as premium SOFO suites, which points firmly to the first category.

What I could not get: a sale and purchase agreement schedule, an advertising and sale permit number, or a housing registry entry for this project. Any one of those would settle it. None are published, and the developer's e-brochure is an image-only file with no readable text.

Why this is the most consequential question on the page. Inside the Act you get a prescribed agreement you cannot be negotiated out of, liquidated damages at a statutory rate if the developer is late, a defect liability period with statutory backing, your progress payments held in a housing development account, and access to the Tribunal for Homebuyer Claims. Outside it, each of those is whatever the contract you sign says it is — and the contract is drafted by the seller.

So the practical instruction is simple and it is not optional. Ask HCK in writing whether this sale is HDA-governed. Then have a solicitor read the actual sale and purchase agreement before you pay anything beyond a refundable booking fee, with specific attention to the completion date, the late delivery remedy, the defect liability period and what happens to your money if the project stalls.

Is it 326 suites or 305? The developer says both.

Both figures come from HCK, which is exactly why it is worth flagging rather than quietly picking one.

The developer's own project page on the corporate site states 326 units. Its 2026 press placements, published in May and June of this year, describe 305 exclusive units spanning 21 levels. Same developer, same product, two numbers eleven months apart at most.

The likeliest explanation is that some units were reconfigured, combined, or withheld from the release between the website being written and the press being placed, and the website was not updated. That happens constantly and it is not sinister. But the 2026 press is the more recent statement, and where a developer contradicts itself the fresher figure usually reflects the current reality.

Does it change anything for you? Only in one respect that matters. Unit count is the denominator for your maintenance charge and for the strata share units that determine your voting weight and your share of common expenses. A twenty-one unit difference on a base of roughly three hundred is about seven per cent — not nothing, but not decisive either.

What to do rather than worry: ask for the strata plan or the schedule of parcels, which gives the actual final count and, more usefully, your specific share unit allocation. That is the document that governs, not a website and not a press release.

Why does one HCK channel say from RM551,000 and another say RM468,000?

Because both are HCK channels, which makes this a genuine conflict rather than an agent embellishment, and I would rather show you the conflict than pick a side.

RM551,000 appears on the current project website as the starting price and is repeated in the developer's May 2026 press placement. RM468,000 appears in a promotional post on HCK Group's own official social media page.

The most probable reading is that RM468,000 was an earlier campaign price, perhaps for a limited release or with a rebate structure attached, and RM551,000 is the current list. Campaign prices in Malaysian new launches routinely sit below list because of rebates, absorbed legal fees and furnishing packages that are priced in or out depending on the campaign.

There is no published upper price. The only figure circulating for a top-end price comes from a source I do not use, so this page carries a floor and no ceiling.

The practical move is the same one I would give you on any launch: the headline price is a marketing number, and the number that matters is the net price after every rebate for the specific suite, on a specific floor, with the furnishing package specified in writing. Ask for that in a single document. Message me and I will request the current schedule with the rebate structure spelled out.

Can I live in it, or run it as a short-stay rental?

This is the question the marketing invites and the title complicates, and you should get it answered before you buy rather than after.

The official project site speaks to a young family, a digital nomad and a short-stay rental entrepreneur, and the developer's 2026 advertorials call the product the residence and describe it as a first home for newlyweds. Meanwhile the same developer describes the tower as a Grade-A business tower and its annual report files these suites beside Premier Corporate Offices. Both descriptions are HCK's. Only one of them can be on your title.

Four things determine what you may actually do, and none of them is a brochure. The land use condition and any express conditions on the title. The certificate of completion and compliance and what use the building is certified for. The house rules and deed of mutual covenants adopted by the management. And the local council's position on short-stay accommodation, which in Selangor local authorities has been actively contested and has changed.

The practical risk is not that someone evicts you. It is narrower and more common: a management that prohibits short-stay letting in its house rules, or a council that requires a licence you cannot obtain for a commercially-titled suite, turns a yield assumption into a vacancy. If a rental return model is why you are buying, that model is only as good as the permission underneath it.

Ask for the deed of mutual covenants and the house rules in draft before you sign, and ask specifically whether short-stay letting is permitted. Get the answer in writing from the developer, not verbally from a sales adviser.

HCK's revenue fell 70% and the last quarter was a loss. Should that worry me?

It should inform you rather than frighten you, and because the parent is listed you can check every figure yourself.

The facts, from HCK Capital Group Berhad's own annual report for the year ended 31 December 2025 and its Bursa quarterly filings. Revenue RM146.39 million against RM493.41 million the year before, a fall of 70.3%, which the group attributes to a one-off property trading stock recognition in 2024, to most projects being over 90% sold and completed, and to new projects still contributing little. Profit before tax RM15.73 million, which the annual report says rose mainly because of a gain on the partial disposal of a subsidiary rather than from operations. Net assets RM525.52 million, net assets per share RM0.84. And for the quarter ended 31 March 2026, revenue RM31.4 million with a net loss of RM5.2 million. Three of the last five reported quarters were loss-making.

The reading that is neither alarmist nor complacent: this is a group in a trough between delivery cycles, with a substantial asset base, whose current earnings depend on new projects reaching the revenue-recognition stage. That is a normal shape for a developer and it is also the shape that precedes trouble when the new projects are slow. Which of the two it turns out to be is not knowable from a page like this.

Why it matters more here than it would on a residential launch: a commercial SOFO product very likely sits outside the Housing Development Act, so you may not have a housing development account holding your progress payments and you may not have statutory liquidated damages. Where the statutory safety net is thinner, the counterparty's balance sheet is doing more of the work.

One point in the other direction, and it is a real one. The tower is already built and operating, and HCK occupies levels 38 to 42 of it. A developer that has moved its own head office into the building it is selling has a different set of incentives from one that will hand over and leave.

What to do: read the latest quarterly filing yourself before you commit — it is public, it is free, and it is more current than anything on this page. Then ask your solicitor to structure the payment schedule as defensively as the agreement allows.

What is the maintenance fee, and is there really a guaranteed rental return?

Neither is published by HCK, and the second one deserves real caution.

On maintenance: no rate appears in any HCK channel for these suites. A figure of 40 sen per square foot plus a ten per cent sinking fund is circulating, sourced from an agent site rather than the developer. I will not print it as this project's number. What I will say is that a commercial building of this specification — nine thousand car park bays, Grade-A security and surveillance, a level 5 facilities deck, a shuttle bus service — is not cheap common property to run, and commercial service charges generally sit above residential ones for the same floor area. Get the rate in writing and get it per square foot, not as a monthly lump sum, so you can compare it to anything else.

On the guaranteed rental return: a claim of 6% for 24 months after completion is circulating. It appears on an agent site. It does not appear on any HCK channel I could find. I am not repeating it as a fact.

More importantly, understand what a guaranteed return is before you value one. It is a contractual promise by the developer or an appointed operator to pay you a sum whether or not the space is let. Its value is entirely the covenant strength of whoever gives it — if the promisor cannot pay in year two, the guarantee is a claim, not an income. Given the parent's current earnings position discussed above, that is not an abstract point here.

It is also common for a guaranteed return to be funded out of a price uplift, so you may be buying back your own money at a premium. Ask for the price of the same suite with and without the scheme.

If a guaranteed return is offered to you, ask for four things in writing: who the promisor is, its registration number, what security backs the payment, and what happens at the end of the guarantee period. Then have your solicitor read it. Message me and I will get the developer's written position on both the maintenance rate and any rental scheme.

How does an office suite compare with a condominium at the same price?

They are different asset classes wearing similar price tags, and five things separate them.

Financing. Commercial units are commonly financed at a lower margin over a shorter tenure than residential ones, which means more cash down and a higher monthly instalment for the same purchase price. Get a written offer in principle from your bank on this specific building before you commit, not a general assurance.

Holding costs. Assessment and utilities are billed at commercial rather than domestic rates for as long as you own it, and commercial service charges generally run above residential ones for the same area.

Legal protection. A residential-titled condominium sits inside the Housing Development Act and the Strata Management Act, with a prescribed agreement, statutory late-delivery damages and a homebuyer tribunal. A SOFO product very likely does not. That is the largest single difference and it is invisible until something goes wrong.

Tenant profile and vacancy. A small office lets to businesses on shorter leases with higher turnover than a residential tenancy, and it can sit empty for months between tenants in a soft market. A condominium of the same price in the Klang Valley almost always lets faster, for less rent, to a deeper pool of tenants.

Resale liquidity. The buyer pool for a 600 sq ft office suite is investors and small businesses; the pool for a 900 sq ft condominium includes every owner-occupier family in the catchment. The narrower pool is what you feel when you want to exit quickly.

For a Malaysian buyer who wants a small business address in a working tower above a mall with parking already built, this product does something a condominium cannot. For a buyer who wants a home, or a straightforward rental asset, look at a residential-titled project instead — there are three others in this same city linked from this page.

Four things to settle in writing before you pay a booking fee

On a commercial suite the questions are different from the ones you would ask about a condominium. Get the land title category and the lease expiry year, get the exact square footage and the car park allocation for your specific unit, get confirmation in writing of whether the sale is governed by the Housing Development Act, and get a bank offer in principle before you commit, because financing margins on commercial units are commonly lower and the tenure shorter than on a home. I will ask HCK for all four and forward the reply as it comes.

No buyer-side agent fee on developer launches

Louis Koh

11 years in Malaysian property · Johor Bahru & Kuala Lumpur new launches · English & 中文

I work with cross-border buyers from Singapore and with local investors. I'll tell you when a project isn't right for you — that's usually worth more than the brochure.

💬 Message Louis

Published 2026-08-11 · Last verified 2026-08-11 against Light Odyssey Sdn Bhd, HCK Capital Group's published project material. Unit availability, pricing and completion dates are set by the developer and subject to change. This page is marketing information, not an offer or a contract.

Platinum Premium Suites @ HCK TowerCommercial office suites · 560–795 sq ft · Levels 5–25 · From RM551,000 · Not a residential purchase
WhatsApp

Ask a specific question

If you would rather not use WhatsApp, use this. I answer them myself. Only your name and one contact method are required.

Email or phone — one is enough

What you send is emailed to me and stored on this site. It goes to no third party, joins no mailing list, and fires no tracking. See the privacy policy.

Developer: HCK Capital Group (1 development on this site)

Where it is: Petaling Jaya (PJ), Selangor

All developers covered